Articles Archive 2012Articles Archive 2011Turkey-EU Relations (2012-2013)Search Databases
This is the "Home" page of the "NATO Support to Turkey" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NATO Support to Turkey   Tags: eu, turkey  

Last Updated: May 22, 2013 URL: http://natolibguides.info/Turkey Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

When searching for information on this topic, potentially useful keywords to use include :

  • NATO-Turkey relations
  • Turkey's air defence capabilities
  • Patriot Deployment to Turkey
  • Turkey/Turkish foreign relations
  • NATO-EU
 

Notes

This LibGuide includes links to content found on the web (e.g. websites, news & blogs, reports, etc.) as well as a select number of articles and books available from the NATO Multimedia Library.

Please note that this is not a comprehensive collection of material on the topic.  The selection criteria for the websites and documents included was based on each item's currency and relevancy to this topic. 

Furthermore, quick search boxes for online databases subscribed by the Library (available to staff working at NATO HQ) as well as links to the library catalog are available for you to locate additional resources.

 

NATO Support to Turkey

 

On 21 November 2012 the NATO Secretary General received a letter from the Turkish government requesting the deployment of Patriot missiles. In this letter, the Turkish government stressed that the deployment would be defensive only, and that it would in no way support a no-fly zone or any offensive operation.

On 4 december 2012, NATO Ministers of Foreign Affairs agreed to augment Turkey’s air defence capabilities by deploying Patriot missiles at a meeting in Brussels. 

Three NATO Allies agreed to provide Patriot missiles to augment Turkey’s air defences: Germany, the Netherlands and the United States.

On the specific "NATO Support to Turkey" web page you will find a timeline of events leading to NATO’s decision, a map of Patriot Batteries in Turkey, the Fact Sheet : PATRIOT DEPLOYMENT published on 20 February 2013, together with more stories and additional information about this defensive action.

This LibGuide will help you to find out new publications and analysis related to this defensive action.

 

Turkey: NATO, EU and its evolving foreign and security policy

This LibGuide is also intended to provide a few starting points to assist you with your research on issues related to Turkey and its relations with NATO and the EU as well as Turkish foreign and security policy. It contains English language and where available, French language material on issues related to these topics.

Turkey joined NATO in 1952 and shortly after Turkish forces fought with the allies in Korea. During the Cold War, Turkey was a "wing country" under NATO's strategic framework, standing tough against the Soviet Union for decades.

Following the United States, Turkey has the second-largest number of troops in the alliance.

Good places to start your research include the following web pages and documents:

Turkey-NATO relations:

Turkey's foreign relations:

Turkey-EU relations:

  • Turkey in Europe: Breaking the Vicious Circle "the second report of the Independent Commission on Turkey published in September 2009, analyzes the key developments in EU-Turkey relations and puts forward concrete steps necessary to revive negotiations."
  • The Ministry for EU Affairs (Republic of Turkey) has an informative page on Turkey-EU relations. A brief history is provided as well as links to official documents and the institutional structure is outlined.
  • EU-Turkey relations by EurActiv, provides a good overview of the key issues and positions involved for this topic. As well, there is a useful timeline and page to external links.

Disclaimer: NATO is not responsible for the content of the external internet sites contained in this LibGuide. Furthermore, the views
and opinions of the authors expressed in these external websites and documents do not necessarily state or reflect those of NATO.

NATO Multimedia Library

Public Diplomacy Division, Room Nb123, B-1110 Brussels, Belgium
Tel.: +32(0)2 707 4414 / Fax: +32(0)2 707 4249
e-mail: multilib@hq.nato.int

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip