NATO Handbooks

Allied Command Operations and Allied Command Transformation Public Affairs Handbook (May 2020)
Allied Command Operation (ACO)/Allied Command Transformation (ACT)

Allied Command Transformation

Concept Development and Experimentation (CD&E) is a fundamental process which enables transformation activities. This CD&E Handbook provides basic information for the concept developer based on approved NATO guidance and policy as well as best practice derived from a rich history of CD&E experience. Although designed to address Alliance CD&E activities it has been developed with a vision of informing NATO nations, our partners and other nations and organizations. Accordingly, significant effort has been taken to ensure applicability of the methodology across the broadest user community.

 

Civil-Military Cooperation Centre of Excellence (CCOE)

The main purpose of this handbook is to provide a tactical reference, and an operational command level insight, for all personnel involved in Civil-Military Cooperation (CIMIC) and Civil-Military Interaction (CMI) activities, across the full mission spectrum. The secondary purpose is to create awareness for those organizations and individuals who have a vested interest in CIMIC/CMI activities.

 

The NATO Advanced Distributed Learning Handbook is published and maintained by the NATO Training Group (NTG) Individual Training and Educational Developments (IT&ED) task group. It provides guidelines for the development, implementation and evaluation of technology enhanced learning.

NATO Handbook (2006)
The NATO Handbook was published by the NATO’s Public Diplomacy Division under the authority of the Secretary General as a reference book on the Alliance and on Alliance policies. It is no longer updated and is shown here for historical purposes only. For an updated content, please refer to the NATO Encyclopedia.

 

This handbook, published by the Joint Analysis & Lessons Learned Centre (3rd ed.) uses NATO's approach to Lessons Learned as the underlying model but has been written to be relevant to any organization.

The purpose of this handbook is to guide and assist you in fulfilling your role in supporting their organization and NATO to effectively learn from experience.