Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
As an external researcher, you have access to following services:
We provide research tailored to your needs. We can create reference lists to support conferences, presentations, research projects and trainings. Just ask us.
NATO Research Guides
Web-based research tool that have been created for topics that are of current interest to NATO's mission. Research Guides provide a great starting point for your research and are regularly updated with the most current information.
NATO Library Catalog
The catalog allows you to search and explore the library collection online. Our collection focuses on international relations, security and defense, military questions and current world affairs.
Interlibrary Loan Services
NATO Library is part of an international network of libraries. Non-NATO staff may borrow books from the Library's collection only through their local library as we only lend books to other libraries. As an individual, please ask your local library to request an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) with us.
NATO Archives Online
Web-based research tool that provides access to thousands of declassified and publicly disclosed NATO documents.
Here you will find information about a a variety of sources, ranging from the secretary Generals Annual Report, to Law publications, Cyber and AI, and gender perspectives.
Visit to NATO Library & Archives Reading Room:
NATO Library shares space with The Archives Reading Room, so primary and secondary research materials about NATO, its activities, and its history can now be conveniently consulted in a single shared physical location in the home of the Alliance.
External researchers wishing to visit the Library or NATO Archives can do so under certain conditions. Find out more in our "Plan Your Visit" page.